D’s bedtime story

We’re an adventurous couple. We have been since the beginning. So it was fitting for us to go camping for our one year anniversary…on an island occupied only by us and some horses…with an impending storm…in a tent.

The night we got there was gorgeous. We thoroughly enjoyed eating smores over a campfire on the beach, which was something we had never done before. We watched the waves roll in under the light of the moon & a million stars, a lighthouse beaming in the distance, and the campfire cracking. It was perfect.
The next morning, I woke up early and hung out with the birds while I wrote in my journal and listened to them chattering back and forth. Keith and I fished, searched for shells, and visited the horse pond while the sun baked down on us making our sunburns worse. We loved every minute of relaxation & had no idea how crazy the storm was getting, or that we were in its path.
By afternoon, we made our way back to camp and listened to the radio only to find that our horse island paradise was about to get jacked up. Well, it ended up taking all evening and into the night to get there. By that point, I was exhausted from worrying and allergies and my husband convinced me to get in the tent and go to sleep. He reminded me for the 100th time that God can speak the words and calm the storm (“But does He want to?” I kept thinking) and he told me he’d wake me up if it got really bad.
Keith watched water spouts come up from the ocean into the clouds and some pretty angry storm clouds split completely around the island. We literally got about 5 minutes of rain. And I slept right through the majority of it! There were 60 tornadoes that night in North Carolina alone. Some nearby towns had a whole lot of damage and many people died.
During the storm, we were joking about how we would be “the couple who went camping and died the day before their one year anniversary.” Not wanting to be too morbid, we turned that into, “the kids will ask for this as a bedtime story one day.”
A few days after we got home from our trip, we found out just how true that would be! I was about a week late, so I woke up early one morning and took a pregnancy test. So much for “worrying and allergies” being the cause of my exhaustion! As I type, I’m reading aloud…and my little girl is kicking and punching inside me…enjoying her bedtime story. 🙂
~Tanya…aka Mommy
What do you think?

